It’s been a long winter; let’s start National Poetry Month with some seasonal haiku.


A Cold Spring

Banrai (pre-1800)

 

So chilly is the spring,

My little tea plants quite forget

They should be blossoming!

 

The Perfume of the Plums

Shoha (d. 1600)

 

So sweet the plum-trees smell;

Would that the brush that paints the flower

Could paint the scent as well!

 

 

Daffodils

Kikurio (pre-1800)

 

In spite of cold and chills

That usher in the early spring

We have the daffodils.

 

I don't have any daffodils to offer, so here's a ribbon one I made until the real ones bloom.

I don’t have any daffodils to offer, so here’s a ribbon one I made until the real ones bloom.

In keeping with the daffodil theme, we’ll add a William Wordsworth classic too.

 

I WANDERED lonely as a cloud

That floats on high o’er vales and hills,

When all at once I saw a crowd,

A host, of golden daffodils;

Beside the lake, beneath the trees,

Fluttering and dancing in the breeze.

 

Continuous as the stars that shine

And twinkle on the milky way,

They stretched in never-ending line

Along the margin of a bay:

Ten thousand saw I at a glance,

Tossing their heads in sprightly dance.

 

The waves beside them danced; but they

Out-did the sparkling waves in glee:

A poet could not but be gay,

In such a jocund company:

I gazed–and gazed–but little thought

What wealth the show to me had brought:

 

For oft, when on my couch I lie

In vacant or in pensive mood,

They flash upon that inward eye

Which is the bliss of solitude;

And then my heart with pleasure fills,

And dances with the daffodils.

 

7 Comments

Filed under Poetry

7 responses to “

  1. I love, love, love the ribbon daffodil! And dear Wordsworth, the amount of double-entendres that are now crammed into ‘Daffodils’. Doesn’ t stop it being great, though. I have a row of daffs in a long straight line, planted by the previous owner. Every year I dig up spadefuls and transplant them to something a bit more jocund. It’s a Sisyphean task… (Tutorial on the daffodil? Pretty please?)

    • You know, sometimes I think we have a word association game going. I say something, *anything*, you find a dirty joke or implied double-entendre.

      • It’s a gift, dear Miss Magpie. A divine gift. I’m not the only one. There’s a certain cute doll maker I know, far far away, who is similarly inclined. (In at least two languages)

  2. Oh gosh, I’ll give it a shot. I need to find more of the ribbon and have a sunny day off. It might be easier to try to find the book it came from 😉

    I’ve got a few daffodil heads on my floor, I can’t figure out how to neatly attach them to a stem to put in a vase. And I’m still not best pleased with the leaves.

    I have to make ribbon ones though, our squirrels always eat the daffodils so I never actually get any in my yard.

Leave a Reply

