Last Minute February Show and Tell

Penny BangleI kept meaning to post these guys this month and kept not doing it. (Can I blame the lack of good lighting for photos? I had to use an old one for my bangle.)

 

The first is a President’s Day bangle bracelet I made awhile back when I was taking a jewelry making class and learning how to solder.

 

Being queen of trying to practice with cheap materials that might look interesting nevertheless, I decided to use pennies! Not the best idea, since solder stands out terribly against copper, and the little lines in the Lincoln Memorial I swear were designed to funnel solder out from where it was needed. Overall I think it turned out well, and it certainly gave me the soldering practice I needed. Darwin Pendant II

 

The other big February holiday (well, to me, since google never seems fit to do anything for it when they celebrate waaay more esoteric figures and their birthdays…) is Darwin Day. Charles Darwin was born the same day (February 12, 1809) as Abraham Lincoln. Darwin Pendant I

 

There’s this famous image from one of Darwin’s notebooks (B), a little scribble that has become somewhat iconic. It’s a quick doodle of the idea of a tree of life with “I think” written in the corner. I tried to work that image into miniature collages of vaguely contemporary patterns (William Morris designs, an English compass rose, etc.) that I’d saved from museum catalogs and the such. Then I sealed the collages behind glass and turned them into pendants.

Leave a comment

Filed under Crafts, Historical Facts and Trivia, Natural Science

Leave a Reply

