Make Your Own Snowflake

The snow’s slowly melting. I’m of two minds about missing the snow. I like dry roads thank you very much, but snow is certainly prettier scenery than dead grass…and ice makes branches sparkle like magical things.

 

So, in lieu of snow, here’s a project I found for making a crystal snowflake. Full disclosure, I haven’t tried this yet, I would like to.

 

 

Make Your Own Snowflake Project

(adapted from Kathleen M Reilly’s Explore Weather and Climate)

 

Supplies

-pipe cleaners

-scissors

-wide mouth glass jar

-borax from laundry detergent section of store (20 Mule Team Borax Laundry Booster)

-boiling water

Optional

-a child (if you feel like you need an excuse!)

 

1. Cut pipe cleaners into 3 equal pieces, twist them together and spread out end to form a snowflake shape. (Make sure it will fit in the jar!)

2. Cut a piece of string, tie one end to snowflake, the other to the pencil. The string needs to be long enough to hang from a pencil into the jar, but short enough not to touch the bottom. Put the snowflake skeleton aside.

3. Mix borax and boiling water in the jar, use 3 tablespoons of borax per cup of water. Stir well. (Don’t worry if a little is left un-dissolved.)

4. Hang snowflake skeleton in jar, suspended from the pencil and leave it overnight for the crystals to form.

There’s an alternate glowing (!) version on about.com.

5 Comments

Filed under Crafts

5 responses to “Make Your Own Snowflake

  1. Oh, I remember trying this many, many years ago when I was a small thing back in Chiang Mai. I’d quite like to try it again now!

  2. I used to do this when I was a kid! Love it. I too like dry roads, but I love the crispy landscape covered in snow. I hope you have fun trying this out!

    • After driving north and seeng everything so dull and grey I’m hoping for just enough snow to brghten things up again! (Or else I will have to make some glowing snow of my own!) Do you remember how long they last?

  3. I’m going to have to get myself some of this borax. It’s keeps turning up in cool stuff.

Leave a Reply

