Losing Altitude

An adorable barn owl plush Arras made awhile back.

Losing Altitude is a kickstarter project I’m tangentially connected with. It will be a collaborative art book highlighting endangered bird species from all over the world.

 

Arras (animuspanthera on both deviantart and etsy) has gathered dozens of artists (also from all over the world) to illustrate their favorite endangered species in their own unique styles. Each illustration will be accompanied by information about the species.

 

There’s already have a tease of some of the gorgeous and exuberant art that will be included.

 

Pia Ravenari is working on some intricate and stunningly colored parrots.

 

And Tania Avila Villalba has a strikingly austere Javan hawk-eagle.

 

Not having the illustrative skills to contribute directly I offered some of my tree and key pendants to use toward incentives.

 

I’m excited this is finally live, kind of silly, but I made a bird treasury on etsy in honor of its inception. I hope it goes, I would really love to see this book in print! (I have a place on my bookshelves all picked out…)

2 Comments

Filed under Art, Books, Natural Science

2 responses to “Losing Altitude

  1. These are all gorgeous. The plushie owl and the Javan hawkeagle, (which hunts baristas, presumably) are my faves. This has my full support, not least because I now live in a country where I can’t identify most of the birds. It’s oddly disconcerting. I’ll tell you my buzzard story someday, if you need a laugh.

Leave a Reply

