Fibonacci and Spirals

Okay, now this is an *old* poem that I confessed I’d written after someone had asked me if I was familiar with the fibonacci sequence, since it related so well to the ammonites I like to work with. I mostly get the basics but can’t think of a concise way to sum up the importance of the sequence, so I’m cheating and linking to the wikipedia article and a really fun Khan academy video on doodling and spirals and Fibonacci, sorry.

 

Short explanation, we were given an assignment to write a math and/or science poem. So, being me, I couldn’t decide and did one on the sequence, trying to create an image of its visual impact in a poem where each line contains the number in syllables. (The other was about stamping on Newton’s grave.)

 

Fibonacci sequence

a

fern,

slowly

unfurling.

rose vines, tightening.

the snail in his spiral shelter.

seeds, corkscrewing, maximum life in minimum space.

magical, methodic, unwinding from the center; distance growing greater with every turn.

a silken snake, ready to strike; divine division, a treasure map of beauty’s proportions;

     logarithms trapped in the equiangular coils of nature.

1 Comment

Filed under Art, Natural Science, Poetry

One response to “Fibonacci and Spirals

  1. Pingback: Magpie's Miscellany

Leave a Reply

