Growly face and dougnuts

Spiderweb obsidian, like most semi precious stones, shows infinite variation. I love it because even though it isn’t fancy like a diamond, unlike a diamond, each one is unique. Which is also why I can identify the ones taken from me, even if the fact that I know my own wirework and can provide dated photographs isn’t enough…

I know this isn’t even a blip in the radar of things that really matter, but I’m vibrating between tired anxious and annoyed right now and can’t focus on anything useful. (And my wire jacaranda trees are not behaving, I’m running out of stones and can’t get it *just right*)

Feel free to skip, I’ll try to have something fun and fuzzy up shortly.

In May I had some pendants on consignment with a shop whose tent at Brimfield was robbed during the night. (He only brought his most expensive pieces home, I will confess annoyance that he left pieces that weren’t even really his to leave behind..) My pieces were amongst the pieces stolen. When the shop owner finally told me (a few weeks after the event and one day before I was leaving on vacation) I tried to email pictures of some of the pieces to the police. Never heard back, didn’t really expect to.

I was shopping Brimfield with my mom today and I found two of those pieces being sold in another tent.

I failed at not reacting, and my mother really failed and started asking the dealer questions. He said he got them at auction and wouldn’t tell me where or what or whose auction, claiming he didn’t keep records of that kind of thing.

I wasn’t sure what to do and just had to walk away. Another dealer who saw me upset told me to call the cops.

With the help of some very nice people I eventually managed to reach the police, who over the phone pointed out that I couldn’t prove the pieces were one of a kind.

They’re hand made-I couldn’t make exact copies of the wire frames even if I try-so chances are pretty good no one else could make an exact replica either. Plus each stone has a pretty unique pattern- one cut gem might look like any other cut gem of the same type, but cabs tend to have designs unique to them, especially the freeform ones I use. One stone was a spiderweb obsidian, and I’ve not found another with a similar pattern. I’d been looking to replace this stolen one. The other was an orthoceras, so being a once living thing it too is near unique in its exact formation. The orthoceras I’ve a photo of, with other wraps by me, posted on my site almost exactly two years ago.

This guy was also pretty unique. Besides my wrapping style, it’s a fossil of an ancient squid sort of creature, and there tends to be some variation in individual fossils. I know the one I saw today was this one, stolen from me in May.

However, an officer did come, but by the time we got to the tent the man had suddenly packed up for an unnamed auction in Connecticut and his belligerent friend was packing up because he had a wake to go to. There was no permit that I could see to give any identification or number, and all the friend would say was that the man’s name was either Bill or Bob. As said, the officer was nice to me, but didn’t seem to make any effort to look for the missing permit or call the guy on it, let alone make him give up the name of his partner. (Or even give his own name.)

So I was given a badly photocopied incident report which I have to fill out and bring back tomorrow (since apparently email and fax aren’t options) plus find a way to print decent copies of my digital photos.

What’s also kind of classic is that he was selling the coated copper piece (which I had labeled as such) as sterling silver by weight. I guess it’s like my father says, once dishonest, always dishonest…

I know it’s pretty irrational, but this really ruined the show for me.

So many people there are really nice, but it isn’t fun anymore. I’ve been going (often all three shows) practically every year since I could walk. I used to love rummaging through all the stuff in the hopes of finding broken bits and bobs to work into my jewelry. Before it hit the fan today I got some fun old coins to wire wrap. Less on the rummage side, I’m also working on collecting antique books.

(Okay, that sounds more highfalutin than it really is. I’m a sucker for turn of the century fairy tale illustrations, so I collect those.

Mostly Arthur Rackham, a little Edmund Dulac.)

Now whenever I rummage I’m a) worried that its through things stolen from somebody else and b) half looking through the silver to see if I see any more of my pieces. It didn’t feel like a rusty treasure hunt anymore. So I treated myself to an apple cider doughnut and went home.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Growly face and dougnuts

  1. One doughnut? I’d have had more than one. I’m hoping that you can get the photographs and that it can, at least, be established that this guy is selling stolen property. It might be he came about it innocently enough, but then, why not be straightforward (and why sell the silver plate as sterling silver). I hope you get something resolved. Either way, I’d use the Internet and get his identity out there, as soon as you find out if it’s Bill or Bob. Did you get a photo of him?

    • No, I didn’t have a camera or anything, it was just supposed to be a casual shopping day, my mom looking for gifts and bathroom type stuff and me looking for jewelry supply stuff and books.

  2. Fayth Sunnihugz

    Huge Sunshine hugs to cheer you up :0))
    What rotten people to do that to you ( feels as if the original fellow may be more aware, than letting on!)

    Re Jacaranda trees. Yours are beautiful I’ve made the tree’s of various semi precious stones over the last lalala few years :0) much laughter but have never seen them done as a necklace. Brilliant idea ;0)& work.
    Also you need to visit Brisbane Australia, the Jacaranda along the river front are so old & glorious. All the magical colours to make trees of joy :0) Have a lovely week full of much Love joy & laughter wrapped in sunshine hugs :0) Fayth :0)

    • It would seem so.

      I would dearly love to visit Australia someday, it’s been on my list for awhile. My mother went years ago and still raves about it. I guess I didn’t think about it having the right climate for the Jacaranda. They are the perfect color combination.

  3. I love the 1st piece. BTW – I do not think I ever answered your question about food photos. Most restaurants adore clients taking photos and raving about their food. I don’t write about places I hate so I hope to keep the good rapport. How have you been? I am finally back in the saddle a bit and happy to get back to my favorite blogs and bloggers like you

Leave a Reply

