Steam and Tea

Steam Tea Travels invited me to Paris by airship. It made me realize that I don’t actually have much of my steampunk inspired work on here. I showed off a bit of a friend’s foray, but don’t think I’ve done much on it myself besides beg for costume help. Which, btw, I’d still be interested in though the pressing need is gone for the moment. So it seemed like time to correct the oversight. I’ll admit I’m more into the visuals of steampunk than the stories, I prefer Verne over Wells and don’t care for a lot of the modern ‘classic’ steampunk books. I am addicted to the charming and snarky Parasol Protectorate Series. I think I’d follow Gail Carriger into any genre! I’d also argue that Pullman’s His Dark Materials trilogy can be viewed as having some great steampunk elements.

For my crafting it’s almost a subset of my fossil addiction. It just slides so nicely from cabinet of curiosity type item to somewhat steamy… I also just love pairing such ancient objects with somewhat old by human standards objects. The juxtaposition of permanence and transience.

4 Comments

Filed under Books, Crafts

4 responses to “Steam and Tea

  1. Hi there! Thank you so much for linking to the Steam Tea Travels. Yes to Pullman as Steampunk! I’d love an Alethiometer. With a fossil charm. A fossil charm with tentacles.

    The Steam Tea will be departing to venues new every month and we hope the Airship Viola will pick up more passengers as she flies.

    I’ve only just come across the Parasol protectorate. I think reading Soulless is in order.

    Hugs and thanks again

    Rhissanna

    • I’ve yet to figure out how to make an alethiometer. Someday. I’ve a lovely watch case that’s crying out for conversion! And yes, reading Souless is very much in order. Plus it might give you vacation ideas.

      Thanks for the trip, Paris is lovely, even in November 😉

  2. Hello! I followed your link from steam tea travels! I love the shell clock it is really cool! I hope to see you on the airship!

  3. Pingback: Pack Rats and Upcycling « Magpie's Miscellany

Leave a Reply

