DIY Gift Ideas

This always ends up being a pricy season.

I try to keep costs down a bit by making what gifts I can. (Of course that can backfire when supplies get expensive…) It’s also a nice way to tailor something to an individual.

I admit I cheat and give more jewelry for gifts than I probably ought to, but like chocolate, no one ever seems to complain about it too much 😉

If you want to make stocking stuffers I’ve got two simple tutorials for a pin and a basic pendant on deviantart that you’re welcome to download and play with.

Innerdiameter works magic with square wire...

I’ve been awful about never finishing a wire wrapping tutorial of my own. (It got waaay too long…) If you’d like to try your hand at a more complicated pendant as a gift I’d suggest this one.  She’s got a great hand with wire, and is always so nice about fielding questions.  Besides, look at these earrings aren’t they amazing? I’m rabidly jealous of them. And mirrored symmetry is so difficult to achieve.

Last year, besides the usual jewelry, I made scarves for my non knitting friends and family. I stumbled on a tutorial for a cargo scarf on instructables. I was iffy on some aspects of the design, but I thought it was a brilliant idea. So when I got a stash of flannel to play with I did some serious tweaking and went to town.

More room added to pockets, extra pen holder, reinforced band for larger keyring.

What I loved was the versatility of the idea. And sure, it’s good for the trendy sort like in the demo, but if you make it toastier it’s also good for the practical sort and for cold season. (I used mine to stash tissues and cough drops last winter.)

Also on the toasty side, I’ve been itching to try this fleece hat tutorial, but I own so many hats that it seems silly. I’m sure I’ll cave eventually and have to try it!

Leave a comment

Filed under Crafts

Leave a Reply

